Pulaski County Office of Emergency Management
Andy Traffanstedt
Director

3200 Brown Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72204

Phone: 501-340-6911
Fax: 501-340-6989
Email Us

Hours of Operations:
Mon-Fri, 8:00 am – 5:00 pm

After Hours Emergencies Only:
501-340-6963

Pulaski County Fire Departments

Grants Available to Pulaski County Fire Departments

Assistance to Firefighter Grants

Staffing for Adequate Fire and Emergency Response (SAFER) Grants

Fire Prevention and Safety Grants

Click on the above links for information on these federal grant programs.

Act 833 Information (AR Annotated Code 14-284-401 thru 411 & 26-57-614:

Who is Eligible: Arkansas Fire Departments

Deadlines and Restrictions: May 30

Funding Range: Act 833 of 1991 provides 1/2 of 1% of all turn back funds from fire insurance premiums to be divided among the 75 counties in Arkansas according to population. The funds in each county are divided according to population.

Grant Description: Act 833 funds are to be used for training, fire fighting equipment, and initial capital construction or improvements of fire departments.

Contact: PCOEM Fire Services Coordinator

Act 35 Information (AR Annotated Code 14-284-201 thru 225):

This Act, passed into law in 1979, allows for the establishment of Fire Protection Districts and the levy of assessed benefits on property. Most of the Fire Departments in Pulaski County were formed under this law. This law also covers the Board of Commissioners of the Fire District.

You can view the law at: Arkansas State Laws, select Annotated Code, and enter the above laws (14-284-201, etc.)

Other Grants Available to Fire Departments:

RC&D: The Arkansas Association of Resource Conservation and Development Councils, Inc., is an authorized United State Department of Agriculture program that is initiated and directed at the local level by volunteers. The program is a regional one that encompasses multiple communities, various units of government, municipalities, and grassroots organizations.

There are seven Resource Conservation and Development Areas covering the entire state of Arkansas. Resource Conservation and Development Areas Councils are lead by volunteer representatives from municipalities and counties, and state and community based organizations. Conservation and Development Councils are not a federal or state agency. Resource Conservation and Development Councils are established for the following purpose:

  1. Encourage and improve the capability of state and local units of government, and local non-profit organizations in rural areas to plan, develop and carry out programs of resource conservation and development.
  2. Cost shares help with County Master Fire Plans (county wide).
  3. Has funding available to help with dry hydrants, tankers and other water supply and delivery programs.

Line of Duty Death:

Incident Commander notifies Department Fire Chief

Incident Commander notifies PCSO and PCOEM

Notify County Coroner

Fire Chief and Chaplain notifies Family (take 2 vehicles to family home)

Notify PSOB Program

Notify Department Insurance Company

Follow guidelines located at www.FireHero.org

Death Benefits:

Arkansas State Benefits

One-time Death Benefit Up to $100,000.

$25,000 for deaths related to official duties and an additional $75,000 if killed in an incident related to responding, engaged in, or returning from a fire. Full payment to spouse and/or children under age of 22. Lesser amount to parents if no surviving spouse or children. Additional benefits paid in three annual installments. Covers State Forestry and Arkansas Fire Training Academy employees and firefighters at Camp Robinson and Fort Chaffee.

Contact: State Claims Commission, 101 E. Capitol Avenue, Suite 410, Little Rock, AR 72201  (501) 682-1619

Career firefighters: The municipality which employed the firefighter will pay the spouse and children an allowance for all accumulated leave at the time of the firefighter’s death.

Workers’ Compensation

Career firefighters: Spouse receives 35% of wages earned at time of death with weekly minimum and maximum; spouse with children receives an additional 15% per child, not to exceed a total of 65%. If spouse remarries, weekly benefits cease. Spouse will receive two-year lump sum. Children receive benefits until age 18, beyond if physically or mentally disabled; eligible to age 25 if fulltime student.

Volunteer firefighters: Deemed county employees so survivors receive minimum level compensation. Survivors also receive death benefits in same manner as regular employees.

Contact: Workers’ Compensation Commission, P.O. Box 950, 324 Spring Street, Little Rock, AR 72203-0950 (501) 682-3930 or (800) 622-4472.

Funeral Benefit

Maximum of $6,000 for burial expenses.

Contact: Workers’ Compensation Commission, as listed above.

Retirement/Pension Plan

For members of Arkansas Local Police and Fire Retirement System (LOPFI):

Career firefighters: If duty-related death occurs before age 55 with any amount of service, credit determined as if deceased has accrued 25 years of service.

Spousal benefit computed as if employee had retired; monthly benefit equal to 50% of the amount firefighter would receive. Benefit for dependent children based on several factors.

Volunteer firefighters: If duty-related death occurs before age 55, service credit determined as if deceased has accrued 25 years of service.

Volunteer service is indexed. Spousal benefit computed as if employee had retired; monthly benefit equal to 50% of the amount volunteer firefighter would receive. Benefit for dependent children based on several factors.

Contact: LOPFI, P.O. Box 34164, Little Rock, AR 72201 (501) 682-1745

Education Benefit-Children:

Scholarship for 8 semesters at any state-supported college or university. Up to 4 semesters may be at a technical institute. Does not cover cost of books, food, school supplies, materials and fees for extracurricular activities. Benefit available until age 23.

Contact: State Claims Commission listed above or the Arkansas Department of Higher Education, 114 E. Capitol Avenue, Little Rock, AR 72201 (501) 371-2000.

Education Benefit – Spouse

Same as for children, except for age limit. If spouse remarries, benefits cease at the end of the semester in which remarriage occurs.

Contact: State Claims Commission listed above or the Arkansas Department of Higher Education, 114 E. Capitol Avenue, Little Rock, AR 72201 (501) 371-2000.

Line-of-Duty Disability:

One-time benefit: $10,000 after one year or for a disability rating of more than 25% from the Workers’ Compensation Commission.

Contact: State Claims Commission listed above or the Arkansas Department of Higher Education, 114 E. Capitol Avenue, Little Rock, AR 72201 (501) 371-2000.

Workers’ Compensation: Special language for Volunteer firefighters:

Firefighters with a certified municipal or county department shall be deemed regular employees and shall receive minimum compensation. Volunteer firefighter must file annually with the county clerk that minimum training standards have been met.

Contact: State Claims Commission listed above or the Arkansas Department of Higher Education, 114 E. Capitol Avenue, Little Rock, AR 72201 (501) 371-2000.

Pension:

For members of Arkansas Local Police & Fire Retirement System (LOPFI) with distinctions between career and volunteer firefighters.

Career firefighters: If injured in the line of duty, monthly disability benefit equal to 65% of the salary attached to the rank held by the member in the department or to the benefit paid to normal service retirees. Volunteer firefighters: If duty-related, 25 years used for service credit.

Contact: LOPFI, P.O. Box 34164, Little Rock, AR 72201 (501) 682-1745

Workmen’s Compensation Claims/Injury Reporting:

Please notify PCOEM (501) 340-6911 immediately of any firefighter injury. Forms “N” and “First Report of Injury or Illness” must be filled out. Return these forms to the OEM Office within 2 days of the injury.