3 new justices of the peace join Pulaski County Quorum Court

PULASKI COUNTY, Ark. (January 11, 2023) – Three justices of the peace, Rebekah Davis (1st District), Natalie Capps (2nd District), and Dianne Curry (7th District) were sworn in last night at the Pulaski County Quorum Court.

Justice Rebekah Davis works in medical sales and said she is actively involved in conservative causes within Pulaski County with a special focus on education issues.

“I will work hard to promote our shared conservative values, improve public safety, and protect the Lake Maumelle Watershed,” Davis said.

Davis’s district includes Little Italy, Wye Mountain, Roland, Ferndale, Western Pulaski County, and portions of Chenal Valley.

Justice Natalie Capps has a doctorate in philosophy from the University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences (UAMS). She has been a labor and delivery and neonatal intensive care nurse and an assistant professor at UAMS for over 20 years.

Capps hopes to work on issues that will improve the quality of life in Pulaski County. She is passionate about trails and public spaces, contributing to conversations as a medical professional.

“I am anxious to get to work!” Capps said.

Capps’s district includes Cammack Village, Riverdale, Hillcrest and the Heights. Her area also includes portions of Riverdale, Pinnacle Mountain, north of highway 10 and  Chenal and Breckenridge/Echo Valley.

Justice Dianne Curry serves as the third Vice President of the Arkansas NAACP and is a former president of the Little Rock Branch NAACP.

Curry was previously appointed by two governors to serve on the Arkansas Service Commission on Volunteers. She is also the co-founder and organizer of the Justice Now Coalition and served on the task force with UAMS on COVID-19 research.

Having served three terms on the Little Rock School Board, Curry said she has continued to work as an advocate for children and family issues, with her focus on the best quality of education for Black and Brown children. She also continues to advocate for equity in education for all children.

“I am open to learn all I can about the operations of Pulaski County Government and to be a positive support to its operational success,” she said.

Curry’s district includes Mabelvale Southwest, Otter Creek, Crystal Valley, and parts of David O Dodd Road, Lawson Road, and Shackleford Crossing.

In the justices’ swearing-in ceremony, Pulaski County Judge Barry Hyde expressed his excitement to have three new perspectives on the Quorum Court.

“I admire your willingness to serve your community,” he said. “Thank you for your service.”